HermitWriter

Sigil Questions

HermitWriter

Greetings! I hope everyone is doing well.

I'm a writer and editor, so I'm pretty naturally drawn towards creating sigils. I like the power of intention behind writing down a word or phrase (after all, we always ask for things to be "put in writing" for them to be considered valid), and the process of transforming that word or phrase into a symbol is fascinating.

So I've read a bit about activating your sigil, and this is where I have a few questions. Burning the sigil in candle magick seems to be straightforward and efficient, but with my allergies and my wife's asthma, I'm not sure it's a viable option. Because I like (trying) to garden, the idea of returning the sigil to the earth has great appeal. We compost kitchen scraps and use paper towels that can be composted if they aren't covered with chemicals, so I thought those might be a good medium. What I'm less certain of is what I should use to draw the sigil for activation. I don't want to use markers or pens, because I'm not sure the ink would safely biodegrade. Would something like a nontoxic charcoal stick work better, i.e. be safe for throwing in the compost? Or do you have other suggestions for the writing instrument itself?

Thanks in advance for any insights!

---Your Friendly Neighborhood HermitWriter

Flaxen

Composting the sigil is a great idea if candles aren’t an option.

You could go the natural route for pigments: ochre, charcoal, plant/vegetable dyes.

This site has great information:

https://recyclenation.com/2015/04/how-to-make-dyes-paints-from-plants/

I’ve used juice from fruit which stains in the past (blueberries, pomegranate, cherries) -can also be painted into a stone and placed in a stream.

Day Soleil