What Is Shadow Work?

Hey all!

I apologize if this is a newbie question but i have been using tarot for about 5 years and have never tried or even understood what shadow work with Tarot is and how it is done.. could anyone clarify it for me please?  

Hi @Aldor44. I'm not sure if this is specific enough an answer to your question, but there is a thread here on the forums about Shadow Work/Pathworking/Active Imagination which includes some references to Tarot cards and other online resources. You might find some helpful info there. 🙂

Edited by Starlight

I guess the link posted by Starlight will be much more thorough. But I have heard of Shadow work via the book by Michael Osiris Snuffin, in a nutshell it is basically an "active imagination" exercise.

You visualize the card for a few minutes until you feel ready to recall every single details of the card. Then you close your eyes and see the card with your mind's eyes. Once you get all the details of the cards, you imagine entering the card (any fantasy that works for you, i.e. lifting the corner of the card and entering it, or else...). Then you would let your "imagination" do its job. You can communicate with the characters or let the elements show you what they mean.

I do put imagination under brackets as I am not too sure how much is imagination (understood as all the mind), and how much is communication with spirits. On this point, there is a part of the Book of Thoth that is called "Tarot as living beings"...

I have done shamanic meditation for a few years, which is very similar, but I have not done any shadow work with Tarot cards. I am planning to do so as the insight gained from shamanic meditation have been impressive and I know that this type of work with the cards can be of immense value.